Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

lola-and-the-boy-next-door

Synopsis

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion… she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit – the more sparkly, more wild – the better. And life is pretty close to perfect for Lola, especially with her hot rocker boyfriend.

That is, until the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket return to the neighbourhood and unearth a past of hurt that Lola thought was long buried. So when talented inventor Cricket steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally face up to a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door. Could the boy from Lola’s past be the love of her future?

My Review

“I know you aren’t perfect. But it’s a person’s imperfections that make them perfect for someone else.” 

I honestly don’t know why it took me so long to finally read “Lola and the Boy next Door”. I mean, I read “Anna and the French Kiss” five years ago and never even thought about continuing this series even though I loved the first book.

But now I finally read it and I’m so glad about that because LATBND was great. I almost loved it as much as I loved AATFK.

Just like the first book in the series, this is a very quick and cute read. You can easily read this book in one sitting; by now I’m even starting to believe you could read the entire series in one sitting though I won’t know about that for sure until I’ve also read “Isla and the Happily Ever After”.

The basics of the plot of this book are very similar to the plot of AATFK. Once again, we have two teenagers. One of them is in a relationship and the other isn’t but they start feeling drawn to each other though they don’t want to admit it because they’re actually just friends. Some other things happen and you have a lot of stuff you can laugh about. That means that this book once again isn’t anything new and unique; but it’s another one of those books that just make you incredibly happy and will make you feel good about life which makes it perfect.

Since it is the sequel to AATFK, we also get to read about Anna and St. Clair again which already made me fall in love with this book before I had even really gotten into it. I think even if LATBND had been horrible, I would’ve still decided to reread it at some point just because of my two favorites.

But there is one thing that bugged me about this book and that resulted in me not liking it as much as I liked AATFK. My problem is that I think that Lola is a bit of an annoying character. During the first half of the book I was still able to mostly ignore but it got worse during the second half of the book. There were moments during which she was acting quite immature even though she was constantly trying to act older than she actually was. I also thought that the fact that she was always wearing costumes with wigs and all that stuff was a little too much. Maybe I am just too old for a character like that or I didn’t like it because I think it’s extremely weird to always run around in colorful costumes with often colorful wigs on your head even when you’re just going to school. I know that it is everyone’s own decision and it made her kind of unique, but it just didn’t help in that situation. Seeing her act so immature at some point and then imagining her with blue hair in a dress she made out of a picnic blanket was just a little too much for me.

That’s why I decided to give LATBND only 4 out of 5 stars. All in all though, it was a great book that is just as addictive as AATFK. It’s an adorable love story and I’ll definitely reread it one day even though I don’t like Lola that much.

Have you already read ‘Lola and the Boy Next Door’ and did you like it? 🙂

One thought on “Review: Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

