Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

six-of-crows.jpg

Synopsis

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court
(a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage
(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward
(and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.

 

My Review

“Many boys will bring you flowers. But someday you’ll meet a boy who will learn your favorite flower, your favorite song, your favorite sweet. And even if he is too poor to give you any of them, it won’t matter because he will have taken the time to know you as no one else does. Only that boy earns your heart.” 

If I had to describe ‘Six of Crows’ in a single word, I would have to use ‘AMAZING’. I literally can’t believe I managed to ignore the hype for so long because this is definitely one of the best books I’ve read this year so far.

For quite some time now, everyone on Goodreads, Bookstagram and BookTube has been obsessed with the SOC duology and even though I bought both books when ‘Crooked Kingdom’ was published, I just kept myself from starting this series because I was so scared I wouldn’t like it as much as almost everybody else. I’ve had incredibly high expectations for SOC and, even though I’m often disappointed when I expect a lot from a book, Leigh Bardugo managed to even exceed my expectations with this YA Fantasy masterpiece.

SOC is a very gripping read. It’s been long since I’ve read a book that didn’t include a single scene that I thought was boring but SOC was one of those books. I kept reading and reading it and for once there weren’t any points at which I stopped and thought that a scene is redundant or could’ve been written in a different, more interesting way. That was of course mainly the case because the plot of this book was so amazing, but also because SOC is just extremely well written. Leigh Bardugo’s writing style is great and I immediately fell in love with it.

The book is written in third person POV but every chapter is kind of written from a different character’s point of view. I’m not exactly sure which kind of third person POV one would say this is written in, but I’d say it’s written in third person limited POV which allows us readers to gain insight into a different person’s head and life in each chapter. I usually don’t like switching POVs but in SOC it is very well done and I loved how the different POVs were kind of connected to each other. For example, in one chapter you read a scene in which a character does something the current character doesn’t understand and in the next chapter you then learn more about that character’s back story and understand why they’ve acted a certain way.

The characters were also all really well developed and I loved all of them (them = the six main characters). They had amazing back stories and even towards the end you still get to learn new things about some of them that will take you completely by surprise. This was also the first book I’ve ever read that included a character called Nina as one of the main characters which just made this book so much more enjoyable for me. She quickly became my favorite character, not just because we share a name, but because she’s just such an amazing and well-developed character that you probably cannot not like.

Like I’ve said before, SOC was a gripping read and that was mainly due to all the great plot twists in it. I literally didn’t expect any of them to happen and this book wasn’t predictable at all. Leigh Bardugo sent me, and probably most of the people that have already read this book, on an emotional rollercoaster. It was able to make me go from being amazed, to being shocked, to feeling betrayed and to wanting to bawl my eyes out within 10 pages. And as if that wasn’t already enough emotional drama, I’ve been told that ‘Crooked Kingdom’ is even worse in that department, so this duology is most probably going to be the end of me.

Still, I can’t wait to read CK even if it might destroy me. SOC is an amazing book and if you’re like me, and have been avoiding the hype for a very long time now, you should definitely grab this book right now and start reading it. 5 out of 5 stars for SOC!

Have you read Six of Crows and did you like it? 🙂

3 thoughts on “Review: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

