Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

the-night-circus

Synopsis

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway: a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love – a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus per­formers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead.

My Review

“The finest of pleasures are always the unexpected ones.” 

When I first heard about “The Night Circus” I had to immediately think of the “Cirque du Freak” series by Darren Shan because the German version of the books is called “The Midnight Circus”. I absolutely loved that series as a child, so I was completely down for this book. Also, literally everybody on BookTube, Bookstagram and Goodreads was going on about how amazing “The Night Circus” is and I just couldn’t ignore the hype any longer.

Due to all of this, I had very high expectations for the book and was scared that I would be disappointed. But don’t worry, before I even tell you about my thoughts on TNC, I can already tell you that my expectations were exceeded and I absolutely loved this book! It’s definitely become one of my all-time favorites and I’m so, so glad I finally decided to read it. So, thanks to everyone who recommended it to me!

The Night Circus tells the story of the “Cirque des Rêves”, the “Circus of Dreams”, and takes you into its magical world. Contrary to what I thought, this book doesn’t include vampires, werewolves or other fantasy characters but it’s solely about magic, illusions and also a little about psychics. The circus has an illusionist, a fortune-teller, a contortionist, someone who can see the future in the stars, someone who can see your past just by looking at you and much more. It’s a world you can immediately get lost in and which allows you to forget about your everyday life for a bit. This is also due to the fact that Erin Morgenstern’s writing is flawless. I immediately fell in love with her writing style and the way she managed to describe this world so perfectly, you feel like you’re not only reading the book, but you’re actually a part of it. It’s amazing.

Unlike a lot of other books, TNC covers a large period of time (round about 30 years) and it often jumps to the year 1902 in-between chapters. That might be a little confusing at first but 1902 is a year that is very important to the book and everything will soon make sense and won’t confuse you at all. Instead it’s fun to see how, if you pay attention to details, you can find some things that hint at ‘past events’ that happened during the time you’re actually reading about at that moment which is a lot of fun. Another thing that confused me at the beginning of the book was that there were some snippets written in second POV. Actually, I hate that POV and it’s a reason for me to immediately put a book down and stop reading it. But in this book, it puts you in the position of someone who visits the circus and since those snippets are short and there are only about 10 of those scenes in the book, it isn’t too much and instead makes you feel even closer to the circus. Also, at the end of your visit you find out about things that’ll interest you after having read the entire book which just made TNC even more awesome. I just love how Erin Morgenstern managed to connect the normal story line, the time jumps and the little snippets about the reader’s visit in a way, that makes this entire book so perfect.

The Night Circus is also a very quick read because, like I’ve said before, this book just immediately allows you to get lost in a world that you won’t want to leave again any time soon. You can easily read the book in less than a day or maybe even in one sitting. It’s also a very gripping read and not predictable at all. Until the very end, I didn’t really know how this story would end. There were always new surprises waiting for me. You will also quickly fall in love with the characters. Erin Morgenstern doesn’t immediately reveal everything you need to know about them, instead you slowly learn more and more about them and you can never be certain if the character you absolutely love might be a character you’ll hate in the next minute. Of course, TNC also includes a beautiful love story that’ll make you smile and maybe even cry.

All in all, The Night Circus is an amazing book and it has officially become one of my all-time favorites. I only finished reading it a couple of hours ago but I already want to reread it. Erin Morgenstern has created a masterpiece that everyone should read at least once in their life; I’m definitely going to force my friends and family to get themselves a copy of TNC. It’s a book that will make you wish for magic and the “Cirque des Rêves” to exist so that you can get lost in its tents for a couple of hours.

5 out of 5 stars for The Night Circus and if anyone asks me for my all-time favorite book now, I might finally have a proper answer for them.

Have you already read “The Night Circus” and did you like it? 🙂

One thought on “Review: The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

  1. One of my all-time favorites, too! I don’t crazy fangirl over books that often, but The Night Circus was a big exception. And like you, I went in with really high expectations. So many people I knew loved it. In fact, I kept putting it off because I was afraid I’d be let down. Not. At. All. So, so good. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

