December Wrap-Up

Happy new year everyone!

Sorry for my long absence and for not posting on a regular basis but things are still crazy and there’s just so much to do. I can’t believe 2016 is already over, time is just running by so fast and now it’s almost time for finals.

But even though I had to prepare for finals, I still managed to read 5 books which was only possible because of Christmas. I read 4 out of those 5 books over Christmas … 😀

I’m really happy with the amount of books I read and really hope I’ll be able to continue reading at least 2 books per month in 2017!

unbenannt

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover – 4 out of 5 stars

I was really, really excited for this book before I started reading it and I must say that I was a little disappointed at first. I just didn’t really like the first 300 pages of this book. The story was just kind of boring and nothing I would’ve usually wanted to read. But I actually love Colleen Hoover’s writing and so I continued reading anyways and I’m glad I did. At around the 300th page there was this major plot twist and suddenly so many unexpected things were revealed that made this story interesting and gripping again. The first 300 pages were only worth like 2 out of 5 stars in my opinion but the last 100 were absolutely awesome and worth a lot more than 5 stars which is why I’m giving Hopeless 4 out of 5 stars 🙂

 

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn – 2 out of 5 stars

This book only has 260 pages but it still took me several weeks to finish it. For one because I had a crazy amount of stuff to do for college (finals are coming up yay ….) but also because this book was rather boring.
I began reading it because I was hoping it would get me into a christmassy mood but even though this book basically revolves around Christmas, it just didn’t help. I’m in a christmassy mood now but only because in Germany we celebrate Christmas on Christmas Eve and not because the last 60 pages were suddenly so much better than the first 200 pages.
Nothing really happened in this book and while I don’t think that every book must be full of action and plot twist, I would’ve just preferred it if anything a little more interesting or simply surprising had happened in this book. I also kind of felt like I was reading a children’s book. Maybe at the age of 19 I’m just too old for this book but the characters are like 16 but basically acted like 12-year-olds most times.
But despite all of that I still really liked the writing style of the two authors and I thought it was a cute story that just made me fall asleep at least one too many times.
All in all, I’m still giving this book 2 out of 5 stars but I definitely won’t be reading the sequel :/

 

Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, Lauren Myracle – 3 out of 5 stars

I should’ve definitely read this book before Christmas because unlike the one I actually read, this one did manage to put me into a bit of a christmassy mood.
I really liked the first short story by Maureen Johnson. It was just so cute and also very well written. I also enjoyed John Green’s short story even though it wasn’t as good as the first story. So it this book had only consisted of those two stories, I would’ve definitely given it 4 stars but there was still a third story in it.
Lauren Myracle’s story was kind of nice as well because you got to meet all the characters from the first two stories again but apart from that it was just boring and absolutely nothing actually really happened during those 140 pages. The main character was an absolute brat and made me want to throw the book at my Christmas tree a couple of times (don’t worry I didn’t do it because I love my tree too much). So long story short, because of that story I’m only giving 3 stars to let it snow but I would still recommend this book to others because the first two short stories are definitely worth a read! 🙂

 

The DUFF by Kody Keplinger – 4 out of 5 stars

I’ve been wanting to watch the movie ever since it came out but I decided to read the book first which I’m really glad about because I really enjoyed this story. It was a quick read and it only took me a couple of hours to actually finish the duff. It was very well written and I also really liked the main character. The only negative thing I could say about this book is that it’s very cliché and your typical high school teen romance with an “ugly” girl, the hot guy, the pretty friends and a lot of screwing around.
But like I said, I really enjoyed the duff and so I’m giving it 4 out of 5 stars!

 

Paper Towns by John Green – 3 out of 5 stars

“That’s always seemed so ridiculous to me, that people want to be around someone because they’re pretty. It’s like picking your breakfast cereals based on color instead of taste.”

This was already my second attempt at reading paper towns. The first time I finished about 45% of it and this time I managed to get through the entire thing. I had really high expectations for this book because I loved tfios so much and unfortunately I must say that paper towns kind of disappointed me.

The book is divided into three different parts and only one of them was really interesting. Unfortunately that part was very short and extremely rushed and the part that I think was the most boring one, was twice as long as it. I just feel like John green could have written a lot more about the first part of the book and could’ve shortened the second part because nothing really happened at all. That’s why the book also never really got me hooked and I also believe that this was the reason I quit reading it the first time.

I did like the characters though, they were unique and interesting. The only character I absolutely couldn’t stand was Margo Roth Spiegelman, the female protagonist. She was just too much of a brat and way too weird for my liking. Yes, she’s just a character in a book and not all characters can be normal and boring like me – and I usually find it interesting to read about characters that have a completely different personality from mine – but she was just way too freaky in my opinion and also too self-centered. That why I also didn’t really like the ending of the book; I even skipped most paragraphs because I just couldn’t get myself to read the entire last 20 pages because her story just didn’t interest me at all anymore now that I had already read like 300 pages about a boy obsessing about her.

Still, I’m giving this book 3 out of 5 stars. Even though I didn’t fall in love with it, it was still well written. It featured some interesting and likeable characters and John green’s unique writing style made sure it was a lot better than it would’ve probably been if it had been written by someone else.

 

These are all the books I read in December. What books did you read last month?

Nina ♥

Leave a Reply

