Review: Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

perfect chemistry.png

Synopsis:

When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created ‘perfect’ life is about to unravel before her eyes. She’s forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she’s worked so hard for: her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect.

Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more.

In a passionate story about looking beneath the surface, Simone Elkeles breaks through the stereotypes and barriers that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart.

 

My review:

 “We’re actors in our lives, pretendin’ to be who we want people to think we are.”

Perfect Chemistry was a cliché love story and quite unrealistic but it was still a cute and quick read. You have the golden high school couple. She doesn’t feel ready for sex even though they’ve been together for 2 years and then there’s her boyfriend who just wants to finally get into her pants. But then there’s the bad boy whom the girl feels so much more attracted to and whom she could even imagine sleeping with (no those weren’t spoilers, you basically already know that after having read the synopsis).

But even though it wasn’t anything I’d not read before, I still enjoyed reading the book. I really liked the author’s writing style and I also liked how the male protagonist was Mexican and not white like most protagonists in other books. I also thought that I’d already forgotten all the Spanish I’d learned at school but this novel showed me that I was wrong about that. I’ve definitely not forgotten everything … yet.

It took me some time to get into this book and the first few chapters were a little boring. But after about 100 pages it actually started to be really interesting and I was hooked. Still, a lot of things were very predictable and none of the things that happened actually surprised me that much.

The book featured some interesting characters, but the one I liked the most was definitely the female protagonist, Brittany. At first sight she was the typical blonde high school Barbie that only cared about other peoples’ opinion. But a few chapters into the book you get to know her better and there’s actually a lot she hides behind her perfect façade which I was really glad about.

All in all this was a cute book and I enjoyed it even though it wasn’t anything special. I’m giving it 3.5 out of 5 stars and if you’re looking for a well written cliché love story, you should definitely read this book!

Have you already read Perfect Chemistry and did you like it? 🙂

One thought on “Review: Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

Leave a Reply

