Review: Smut by Karina Halle

smut.png

Synopsis:

What happens when the kink between the pages leads to heat between the sheets?

All Blake Crawford wants is to pass his creative writing course, get his university degree, and take over his dad’s ailing family business. What Amanda Newland wants is to graduate at the top of her class, as well as finally finish her novel and prove to her family that writing is a respectful career.

What Blake and Amanda don’t want is to be paired up with each other for their final project, but that’s exactly what they both get when they’re forced to collaborate on a writing piece. Since Amanda thinks Blake is a pushy asshole (with a panty-melting smirk and British accent) and Blake thinks Amanda has a stick up her ass (though it’s a brilliant ass), they fight tooth and nail until they discover they write well together. They also may find each other really attractive, but that’s neither here nor there.

When their writing project turns out to be a success, the two of them decide to start up a secret partnership using a pen name, infiltrating the self-publishing market in the lucrative genre of erotica. Naturally, with so much heat and passion between the pages, it’s not long before their dirty words become a dirty reality. Sure, they still fight a lot, but at least there’s make-up sex now.

But even as they start to fall hard for each other, will their burgeoning relationship survive if their scandalous secret is exposed? Or are happily-ever-afters just a work of fiction?

 

My review:

“Writing is hard…It gets harder when it becomes your career, your job, because it’s no longer a hobby, it’s no longer a manuscript hidden in your desk drawer. It becomes a platform from which the world can judge you. Your soul becomes target practice, and the critics hold the arrows.”

Yes I admit it; I sometimes like reading a little smut, as many would call it. But even though I like doing that, I don’t like the erotica books that only consist of sex and don’t really have a proper plot and an interesting story around all the sex. So when I found “Smut”, which is described as a romantic comedy with some heat between the sheets, I just knew that I had to read this book. It was just what I expected it to be and just what I needed.

Smut is one of those books you can read in one sitting if you have enough time (which I unfortunately didn’t have). As you might have already guessed from the synopsis, a big part of this book is about writing. I’ve been looking for a book about some writers for a long time and now I finally found a great one. I love writing and I’ve already written a book myself and am currently working on the next one which is why I could relate to so many things the author described in this novel.

Smut is the first one of Karina Halle’s novels I’ve read and I think I’ll read some of her others in the future. I really liked her writing style and she made me laugh out loud or grin like an idiot quite a few times while I was reading this book.

I loved the two main characters Amanda and Blake. At first sight they seemed to be complete opposites, but as you get to know them better, you can see how well they actually fit together which I really liked. Another thing I really liked about their relationship is the way it evolved. I absolutely hate insta-love and it drives me crazy every time I read about it. When I first read the synopsis of this book, I was scared that things might be rushed and that the author might want to “get to business” as quickly as possible. Thankfully, I was wrong about that and their relationship evolved slowly at a really good pace, so if you were scared about this being insta-love, I can tell you that you don’t have to worry about this any longer.

Like any other book, this one ended with “Acknowledgements” and even though I always try reading them, I’m usually not that interested in what the author has to say about the people that helped them. But Karina Halle used that one sentence in her author’s note that got stuck in my head and is a sentence many people should read and take to heart.

“No one should be judged for what they read, nor should authors by what they write.”

I really liked this sentence and there are many people out there who should realize this. I know that many people still think that reading erotica is horrible and everyone who reads it will rot in hell. But we’re living in the 21st century and it’s time for that to stop. Everyone is allowed to choose what they want to read and it’s literally nobody’s business. If I want to read some smut I do it and when I’m in the mood to read some classics I’ll read them. Just because I sometimes like reading smut, doesn’t mean it’s the only thing I ever read and it’s the only thing I can think about all day long, but some are really good at writing it and it’s nice to read it.

The same applies to writing erotica. If an author wants to write it, let them do so. Just because they write erotica, or smut as you can also call it, doesn’t mean they’re bad writers or just in it for the money. Of course there are also authors who can’t write and only want to make some easy money because so many people are buying these books at the moment, but you just can’t color everyone with the same brush.

Anyway, all in all this was a great book and a very enjoyable read which is why I’m giving Smut 5 out of 5 stars!

Have you already read “Smut” and did you like it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

