Review: Too Late by Colleen Hoover

too late.png

Synopsis:

Sloan will go through hell and back for her little brother. And she does, every single night.

Forced to remain in a relationship with the dangerous and corrupt Asa Jackson, Sloan will do whatever it takes to make sure her brother has what he needs.

Nothing will get in her way.

Nothing except Carter.

Sloan is the only good thing to ever happen to Asa. He knows this and he never plans on letting her go; even if she doesn’t approve of his lifestyle. But despite Sloan’s disapproval, Asa knows what it takes to get what he wants. He knows what he needs to do to remain on top.

Nothing will get in his way.

Nothing except Carter.

 

My review:

“He hugs me. That’s all he does. He hugs me tightly without a word, yet I can feel everything he’s saying.” 

The first one of Colleen Hoover’s books I read was November 9. I read it a few months ago and I immediately fell in love with her writing style. That’s why I just had to put all of her novels on my TBR which is how I stumbled upon “Too Late” which is available on Wattpad. And guess what you have to pay for it? Nothing.

I couldn’t even believe what I was seeing there. An entire Colleen Hoover novel for free, I had to be in heaven and so I immediately started reading it.

First off I have to say that Too Late is a book you shouldn’t read if you have a problem with detailed sex scenes or violence. It’s clearly a book for a mature audience and I want to make sure you know that before you consider reading it.

The book is dealing with sexual assault and domestic violence. I actually had goosebumps at some points of this book and even had to cry (a little) once. Thankfully I’ve never been sexually abused and have also never had a violent boyfriend. But this book showed me how easily something like this can happen to everyone and how ignorant others can be even when they know about the things you’re dealing with.

Even though the topics of this book are very sad, I think it’s great how it raises awareness for sexual assault and violence in relationships and may encourage victims of both to speak up and seek help.

Due to the topics of this novel, it was necessary to use explicit language and Colleen certainly did that. I have read books before that also dealt with violence and sexual assault but the authors didn’t use any explicit language and no swear words at all. It just wasn’t real because if things like this happen in real life, I’m completely sure explicit language and swear words are used a lot. Colleen didn’t sugarcoat anything in this book and I have to admit that even I was shocked about some of the insults and the potty mouth of some of the characters even though I tend to swear quite a lot myself.

Since I felt sorry for the female protagonist Sloan, I immediately felt connected to her. But even if she hadn’t gone through all of that, I would’ve probably still felt connected to her because she was a great character and sometimes even reminded me a little of myself. I loved her and I also loved Carter/Luke, one of the male protagonists.

Asa, the other male protagonist, was the character I probably hated the most, mainly because of all the things he did to Sloan. But even though I hated him, I have to admit that he was a perfect character. He was a complete psychopath but his background story, his actions and everything about him just fit perfectly into the story and just made him the person he was supposed to be.

The story was written from the POVs of those three main characters and Colleen changed the POV after each chapter. I usually hate it when authors do that but when she’s doing it, it’s completely different. Once again it worked perfectly with the story because you got a perfect image of all the protagonists. It was especially interesting and “entertaining” to see what Sloan thought about the things Asa did to her and then see what Asa thought about those things and her reactions and how he turned everything around so that there was no way it could ever seem as if she would think badly of him.

All in all this was a perfect book with a topic that made me think a lot and showed me that everyone could be in Sloan’s position. It’s scary but that’s how it is and it’s important that people are talking about it and don’t just ignore it. I just have to give this book 5 out of 5 stars and can’t wait to read the next one of Colleen Hoover’s books.

Have you already read this book and did you like it? 🙂

If you haven’t read it yet, you can read it herer for free! ♥

 

One thought on “Review: Too Late by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

