Review: After You by Jojo Moyes

 

cover-jpg-rendition-460-707Book: After You

Author: Jojo Moyes

Pages: 352

Genre: Fiction, Romance

Series: Book 2

Published by: Pamela Dorman Books

Rating: 5/5 Stars

 

Synopsis:

Lou Clark has lots of questions.

Like how it is she’s ended up working in an airport bar, spending every shift watching other people jet off to new places.

Or why the flat she’s owned for a year still doesn’t feel like home.

Whether her close-knit family can forgive her for what she did eighteen months ago.

And will she ever get over the love of her life.

What Lou does know for certain is that something has to change.

Then, one night, it does.

But does the stranger on her doorstep hold the answers Lou is searching for – or just more questions?

Close the door and life continues: simple, ordered, safe.

Open it and she risks everything.

But Lou once made a promise to live. And if she’s going to keep it, she has to invite them in . . .

 

My review:

**DO NOT READ THIS REVIEW IF YOU HAVE NOT YET READ “ME BEFORE YOU”**

 

“You never know what will happen when you fall from a great height.”

I never even thought it was possible to write a good sequel to a book with an ending like “Me Before You” but Jojo Moyes managed to write an excellent one.

After having finished MBY, I was devastated. I rarely ever cry, especially not when reading books. It’s not like I’m never affected by the events, it’s just that I don’t weep easily. But MBY made me sit on my couch at three in the morning, bawling my eyes out because life is so unfair.

That’s why I was reluctant to start “After You” at first. I had been such an emotional wreck after MBY that I didn’t think I would be capable of reading about everyone’s life without Will in it. I just thought it would be too much for me and so it took me two months to pick up this book. But let me just tell you that I definitely don’t regret having picked it up.

“After You” is an awesome book and completely different from how I expected it to be. I had read the synopsis before starting AY and already had an idea of what it might be like. But then I actually started reading it and after Chapter 1 I already knew that it wouldn’t be how I had imagined it to be.

There were quite a few plot twists in this book but close to the beginning of AY there already was a major plot twist that shocked me so much, it could have been part of Pretty Little Liars. And that’s when Jojo Moyes had once again proven that she’s an awesome writer.

I still felt really connected to the characters, especially to Louisa. Whenever she was feeling sad, I was sad as well. And whenever she was angry, I was angry as well. Whenever I read other books, I usually feel connected to the protagonist but never enough to actually always feel the way they’re feeling. Especially not when they’re angry.

When a character is angry I usually just read the scene and am like: “Yeah that sucks.” But when Louisa was angry I was literally like: “WTF! HOW COULD THEY HAVE DONE THAT? TELL ME I’M DREAMING. THIS IS A NIGHTMARE, IT CAN’T BE REAL.”

It’s crazy how connected I felt to some characters but I loved it! And since I felt so connected to them (especially to Louisa and Will), AY also managed to bring tears to my eyes quite a few times. It didn’t make me cry the way MBY did, but I reckon there’s never gonna be a book that will manage to make me cry as much as MBY.

 

All in all, I loved this book and I’m definitely giving it 5 out of 5 stars. Jojo Moyes is an awesome writer and I love how both books from the series teach you something. MBY shows you that life isn’t fair and that it can end faster that you expect it to be over. You have to make the most of it and if you wanna do something, you should go for it. We have to stop thinking so much about everything and have to just start living our lives. And AY teaches you that even after having lost someone important, life goes on and things get better. You shouldn’t give up on yourself but you have to give yourself some time. Because losing someone you’ve been close to is an incisive experience and you won’t be able to get over that overnight.

Have you read After You and did you like it?

One thought on “Review: After You by Jojo Moyes

Leave a Reply

