August Wrap-Up

Hello fellow bookworms,

August is over and I feel like it’s only just been the 1st of August yesterday. Time is just going by way too fast and I’m actually going to start college this month. I still can’t believe it. Anyway, it’s time for my monthly Wrap-Up and I have to say that August has been a pretty amazing month because I managed to read a total of ten books. It brought me a lot closer to reaching this year’s reading goal (I have now read 24 out of 35 books.) and I also read two books that are now on the list of my all-time-favorite books because they’re just the definition of awesomeness. But now I’m just going to start with the first book I read this month.

DSC02608

*The first book I read this month is a book that’s only available in German, so all of my English readers can immediately skip to the second book I read this month!*

Liebesfluch von Beatrix Gurian – 3 von 5 Sternen

Das Buch Liebesfluch stand schon seit einigen Jahren in meinem Bücherregal, doch ich muss zugeben, dass ich bisher nie wirklich Lust hatte es zu lesen. Doch da ich momentan keinen Platz mehr für all meine Bücher habe und ein paar aussortieren muss, habe ich mich entschieden nun auch mal ein paar Bücher zu lesen, die ich sonst nicht anrühren würde, sodass ich sie aussortieren kann falls ich sie wie befürchtet wirklich nicht mag. Liebesfluch war eines dieser Bücher und obwohl ich es nicht schrecklich fand, war ich auch nicht davon begeistert. Es war schnell gelesen und auch recht interessant, nur fand ich, dass vieles schon von Anfang an zu erwarten war und es eigentlich nichts gab was mich wirklich überrascht hat oder Spannung erzeugt hat. Auch die Bezeichnung als Thriller hat es meiner Meinung nach nicht wirklich verdient, da es alles andere als Thriller war. Trotzdem hat das Buch von mir drei Sterne bekommen und muss nun aber trotzdem weichen, da mein Herz nicht an ihm hängt und ich es wohl auch nicht nochmal lesen würde.

*And that’s been it for the German part, back to English.*

DSC02633.JPG

November 9 by Colleen Hoover – 5 out of 5 stars

November 9 was definitely one of the best books I’ve read this month. It was a great story and if I hadn’t been on vacation to Sweden I would’ve probably managed to read the entire thing in one go without any breaks. I loved the plot of the book and Colleen’s writing style is amazing. I immediately put all of her books on my TBR list.

You can find my detailed review of this book here.

DSC02618.JPG

Girl Online by Zoe Sugg – 3 out of 5 stars

I absolutely love Zoe’s YouTube channel and have been subscribed to her for quite a few years now. When I first heard that she had published a book, I immediately knew that I’d have to read it and now I finally found time to do so. I liked the book and it was a nice and quick read. I basically felt like it was kind of describing her life, but that’s what they always say: only write about the things you know. So she definitely knew what she was talking about but it wasn’t really something I would’ve usually enjoyed reading about. It’s more of a book for people between the ages of 12 and 15. There were lots of things that bothered me but I talked about them in a detailed review here on my blog. Still, I’m definitely gonna read the second book because many have said that it’s a lot better than the first one. I really hope that’s true; I’ve already bought a copy of the book and now I just have to find time to read it.

Click here for my detailed review of Girl Online.

Lucy in the Sky by Paige Toon – 4 out of 5 stars

Lucy in the Sky was the first Paige Toon book I’d ever read and I’d never heard anything about it before, I only bought it because I liked the synopsis. But the book didn’t disappoint and it was great. I really liked it and at some points I couldn’t even put it down because it was so gripping. It was the perfect summer read with the perfect amount of romance and drama. The only thing I didn’t really like about it was the end because it was quite abrupt but I still gave it 4 out of 5 stars.

Last Night at Chateau Marmont by Lauren Weisberger – 3 out of 5 stars

This book had been standing on my bookshelf for quite some time and the only reason I ever bought it was because I loved “The Devil wears Prada” (which was written by the same author). This book was nice and it was interesting to see that life in Hollywood isn’t as great as everyone thinks it is. I enjoyed reading LNACM but I probably wouldn’t reread it. I didn’t really feel connected to the characters and it also wasn’t one of those books you can’t put down because they’re so gripping. I’m still giving this book 3 out of 5 stars because it’s nice and well written but I probably won’t reread it.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon – 5 out of 5 stars

Next to November 9, this was the best book I read this month. I mainly picked it up because I love watching Sasha (@abookutopia) on YouTube and Outlander is her favorite book. I’ve heard her talk about it so often that I finally had to read it and it definitely didn’t disappoint me. This book is awesome and I just want to have my own Jamie like right now! I’m not really fond of history but this book finally made me enjoy reading about historical stuff. I absolutely loved this book and just had to immediately watch the TV series. I can’t wait to read the second part of this series and I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars.

Click here to read my longer review of Outlander.

DSC02766.JPG

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling – 4 out of 5 stars

I absolutely love Harry Potter!! I grew up with these books and it’s my all-time favorite series. I was so happy when I heard that there would be an eighth book and I loved how it was the script of the play because I don’t know if I’ll go back to London any time soon (not because I don’t want to but because I don’t really have time at the moment). I managed to read this book within a few hours because it was a script and I must say that I really liked it. It certainly wasn’t as good as the first seven books that included all our favorite characters but it was still great. I really liked the new characters except for Albus Potter who annoyed the hell out of me. What I loved about it the most though was how you got to learn more about what happened to the characters after they had finished school. It was great to read a little about their future and reading this book made me want to reread the entire HP series which I’m probably gonna do soon. 4 out of 5 stars for this book.

DSC02748.JPG

New World Rising by Jennifer Wilson – 5 out of 5 stars

I was sent a copy of this book by the author and I couldn’t have been happier about that. This book was great and really gripping. I love Jennifer Wilson’s writing style and the world she created in these books. I can’t wait to read the next part of this series and just had to give this book 5 out of 5 stars.

Click here to read a detailed review of New World Rising.

*Now it’s time for another book that’s only available in German.*

Küsse und Café au Lait von Susanne Fülscher – 1 von 5 Sternen

Dies ist auch ein Buch was seit Jahren in meinem Regal stand und nun weiß ich warum. Ich hab’s leider nur geschafft die ersten 20 Seiten zu lesen bevor ich einfach aufgeben musste. Das Buch war nicht wirklich schön geschrieben und der Inhalt hat mich auch wirklich null interessiert. Ich muss sagen, dass es etwas wie „Herzklopfen auf Französisch“ von Stephanie Perkins war, nur dass das Mädchen diesmal auf Deutschland kam, Etienne haben wir aber auch in diesem Buch finden können. Ich konnte das Buch also einfach nicht weiterlesen und das ich es nicht mochte kann vielleicht auch daran liegen, dass ich mit 19 einfach zu alt dafür war. Trotzdem kam ich nicht umher dem Buch nur 1 von 5 Sternen zu geben.

*From German back to English.*

DSC02968.JPG

After You by Jojo Moyes – 5 out of 5 stars

I finally felt ready to read the sequel to Me Before You and this book was awesome. It was very different from how I thought it would be but really interesting and gripping. I just love Jojo Moyes’s writing style and I loved how connected I felt to the characters. It’s an excellent book and I just had to give it 5 out of 5 stars.

You can find my detailed review of After You here.

 

And those were all the books I read this month. 10 in total and I’m really happy about that. I’m sure I’ll not manage to read that many books next month since I’m starting college but my September TBR consists of the Selection series. I have not yet read the fourth and the fifth book in the series and so I decided to reread the first three books to make sure that I haven’t forgotten any of the things that have happened.

How many books have you read this month and which of those were your favorites?

xoxo, Nina

 

 

6 thoughts on “August Wrap-Up

    1. Yes, I’d say it’s a book for young teens. The characters are mainly around the age of 15, except for the male protagonist who’s 18 but still acts like a 15-year-old and by far not like someone around his age which is really annoying. And the book in general is more of a book that might be interesting to younger people but actually not to someone who’s 16 or above …

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

