Review: New World Rising by Jennifer Wilson

new-world-series-rising-ebook-cover-683x1024Book: New World Rising

Author: Jennifer Wilson

Pages: 350

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction – Dystopia

Series: Book 1

Published by: Oftomes Publishing

Rating: 5/5 Stars

 

Synopsis:

Since witnessing her parents’ murders at the age of eleven, Phoenix’s only purpose in life has been to uphold her mother’s dying words- to be strong and survive. But surviving outside of The Walls- outside of The Sanctuary- is more like a drawn-out death sentence. A cruel and ruthless city, Tartarus is run by the Tribes whose motto is simple, “Join or die.”

Refusing to join and determined to live, Phoenix fights to survive in this savage world. But who can she trust, when no one can be trusted? Not even herself.

 

My review:

*Thanks again to the author for sending me a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.*

 

“If we keep punishing people for what their parents or their ancestors have done, the world as a whole can never move forward. Society will never grow.”

New World Rising was probably only the fourth or the fifth dystopian novel I’ve read in my life. I never thought I’d like this genre but I must admit that it’s slowly becoming one of my favorite genres, especially now that I’ve read this book. I just love how creative authors of this genre are. They always create a new version of the world and invent so many new things. Like the different fractions in the Divergent series, the Reds and Silvers in the Red Queen series or the different tribes Jennifer Wilson invented for this series. I simply love reading about these different worlds and trying to visualize them in my mind.

Probably due to the same genre, New World Rising reminded me a little of the Divergent series (at least at the beginning of the book). But it was still something completely different and not the exact same as anything I’ve read before. I loved Jennifer Wilson’s writing style and how she described everything so perfectly. While reading the book, I always felt like I could see everything in front of me and as if I were a part of the story.

New World Rising featured some very interesting characters. I especially loved Triven and Mouse but I also really liked Phoenix, the female protagonist. The development of the characters was great and I particularly loved to see how Phoenix went from being someone who only cared about themselves to being someone who knew what it feels like to also care about other people’s safety.

New World Rising was a quick and enjoyable read and the ending is a freaking cliff hanger …. Like what the hell is going to happen next? I just have to get some answers and so I’ll definitely read the second book in the New World series which is called New World Ashes.

This book was awesome and I’m definitely giving it 5 out of 5 stars. If you like dystopian novels, you should definitely check this one out. You won’t regret it.

 Have you already read New World Rising? And if you have, did you like it? 🙂

xoxo, Nina ♥

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

