Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

25111004Book: November 9

Author: Colleen Hoover

Pages: 310

Genre: Romance

Published by: Simon & Schuster

Rating: 5/5 Stars

 

Synopsis:

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.
My review:

“When you find love, you take it. You grab it with both hands and you do everything in your power not to let it go. You can’t just walk away from it and expect it to linger until you’re ready for it.”

 

This book was awesome, like really awesome. I was obsessed with this book from the beginning till the end of it. Usually I always need some time to get into a book, but with November 9, it was completely different. I just started reading it and suddenly I was on page 50, then on page 200 and suddenly I was done with it. I read it on my way to Sweden and back home and I guess I spent a total of 5 to 6 hours reading it, so it was a quick and enjoyable read.

I was really excited for November 9 before reading it. I had never read any of Colleen Hoover`s books before but I had heard lots of great things about the book and also about her as an author. But I was also a bit scared that I wouldn’t like it. A few years ago I read (or tried to read) One Day by David Nicholls which has a concept that is kind of similar to November 9. I just couldn’t get through that book and didn’t enjoy it at all, and I was scared that it would be the same with November 9. But like I’ve said before, this book was awesome and my concerns were groundless.

The difference between the two books was even explained at some point of November 9 (which actually made me laugh out loud because I thought I was the only one who had thought of One Day while reading this book). In November 9 the two protagonists, Ben and Fallon, don’t communicate throughout the year, so every time a year is over and they meet again, the reader can actually guess how their lives have changed. I loved that and always tried to guess what both of them have done throughout the year. And guess what! I was never right. What had actually happened, was always different from what I thought had happened.

There were lots of plot twists in this book (especially at the end of it) and I didn’t see any of them coming. I just didn’t even think about the possibility of some of the things happening but I loved that. The book just never got boring.

This might have been the first Colleen Hoover book I ever read, but it definitely wasn’t the last one. I did not only love the plot but I also loved her writing style. It might sound stupid, but I especially loved how she described all the “physical stuff”, if you know what I mean. It`s not like I always need a detailed description of everything that happens but I just hate books that are like: “And then he kissed me. End of the chapter. The following morning I woke up next to him and our clothes were on the floor next to the bed.”

Like, how did that small kiss suddenly lead to you guys having sex?

I think those are just things that are really important for a relationship and not only change the relationship of a real-life couple and make it more “special”, but the same applies to fictional couples.

Since Ben and Fallon didn’t see each other that often, everything that happened while they spent time together was really important for their relationship, including the physical stuff. And I was glad that Colleen Hoover described those things a little more detailed than many other authors (don’t worry it wasn’t NSFW).

I don’t know if what I just said sounds stupid, but I basically just wanted to say that these things are important parts of every real relationship, and I just prefer it when those things are also talked about in books that mainly revolve around the relationship of two people.

All in all, I recommend this book to everyone who’s looking for a great romance novel. This book is awesome and just makes you happy.

Definitely 5 out of 5 stars.

Have you already read November 9? And if you have, did you like it? 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

