July Wrap-Up & August TBR

Hello everybody and welcome back to my blog!

Another month has gone by and it’s time for another wrap-up and a new TBR. July was actually a great month. I did not only read 6 books but I also graduated school. I can’t believe how fast time went by, for 12 years I’ve been complaining about not wanting to go to school anymore and now that I’ve graduated, I feel like time has gone by way too fast.

I’m only eighteen and I already feel old. In my defense, I’m turning nineteen tomorrow, so maybe that’s the reason I’m feeling old. But anyway, most people are saying that the time of my life is going to begin now, so let’s see how things are going to go now that I’m not going to school anymore. I hope I’m going to have lots of fun and am going to experience lots of things I can later tell my kids and grandkids about.

August is one of my favorite months of the year, not only because I was born on August 1st, but also because I usually always go on vacation during August. This year I’m going to Sweden with a friend for a few days and then my family and I are going to visit some friends up in Norway. I also plan on reading six books this month because I feel like I might have some free time to read while travelling to Norway and Sweden and I also won’t have to go to college until September or October and so I’ll still have lots of free time during this month.

But I’m just going to stop talking now and will start telling you about the books I read this month and plan on reading next month.

July Wrap-Up

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

Like I’ve said before, I managed to read six books this month which is actually a lot for me. The first five books I read, were books that I had put on this month’s TBR and the sixth one was the autobiography of a German celebrity called Daniela Katzenberger which I got for 2€ at a book store about 4 years ago. But that’s a book which is only available in German, so I’m only going to talk about five of the books I read in July.

 

Unbenannt

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell – 4 out of 5 stars

Click here to read the synopsis.

Eleanor and Park was the first book I read this month. I was really excited for it and had high expectations for it which unfortunately weren’t fully met. But I still liked the book and did enjoy it even though it didn’t blow me away.

I wrote a full review about this book earlier this month which you can find here.

Zenith by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings – 4 out of 5 stars

Synopsis

Zenith was a book I usually would’ve never picked up because Science-Fiction is a genre I actually don’t like. But I love Sasha’s BookTube (@abookutopia) and knew that I just had to read her very first book. It was only 62 pages long and if I have understood it correctly, it was actually just the first part of the first book of an entire series.

Anyway, now that I’ve read the book I have to say that I actually really liked it. The story was interesting and made me want to read more. I’m definitely going to read the second part of the series as soon as it is released.

You can find a longer review of the book here.

Unbenannt2

The Boyfriend Thief by Shana Norris – 4 out of 5 stars

Synopsis

The Boyfriend Thief was a very quick and enjoyable read and there’s actually not much I can say about it. It was one of these books that just make you happy and make you feel good about yourself.

Unbenannt3.JPG

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard – 5 out of 5 stars

Synopsis

This book was AWESOME!!! I loved it so much and it was definitely my highlight of the month. I was so glad I had already bought Glass Sword before I began reading this book because I had already fallen in love with this series after having read the first hundred pages of Red Queen.

You can find my review of this little gem here.

Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard – 4 out of 5 stars

Glass Sword was the fifth book I read this month and I basically started reading it like five minutes after having finished Red Queen. I already love this series even though Glass Sword wasn’t as awesome as Red Queen. But I still loved it a lot and I can’t wait for King’s Cage, the third part of the series, because that ending was just crazy and unexpected.

I only just posted my review of Glass Sword yesterday and you can find it here.

That’s it for July, now it’s time for my August TBR.

 

August TBR

DSC02608

Liebesfluch by Beatrix Gurian

Synopsis (for those of you who speak German)

Liebesfluch is the first book I plan on reading this month. It’s a German thriller that has already been standing on my bookshelf for a couple of years. It only has an average rating of 3.63 on goodreads so I’m curious to see if I’ll like it more than most others. I don’t know why I bought the book in the first place but it was probably because I liked the synopsis when I saw it at the book store. I’ve never read anything by this author before, so I’ll just see how I’ll feel about this book.

November 9 by Colleen Hoover

Synopsis

I’m so excited for this book! I’ve been wanting to read it for months but for some reason I always decided to read other books first. But now it’s time to finally read my first ever book written by Colleen Hoover. I’ve heard so many good things about this book and it has an awesome rating on goodreads (4.48). I can’t wait to see if I’ll like it as much as most others.

Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

Synopsis

I heard so many mixed things about this book and many people were also saying really negative things about it. I’ve always refused to buy this book but then I got it for 3€ earlier this month and decided that it was finally time to give this book a go. Let’s see what I’ll think about it, I’ll definitely put up a proper review of this book as soon as I’ve read it.

Lucy in the Sky by Paige Toon

Synopsis

This is one of the many second-hand books I own by now and I got it earlier this month. I just really liked the synopsis and thought that it might be a perfect read for summer. Maybe it’s another one of these books that just make you feel good about yourself.

Last Night at Chateau Marmont by Lauren Weisberger

Synopsis

The Devil wears Prada is a book I really loved and have already reread a few times. I really hope that I’ll like this book as much as I liked TDWP even though I already doubt that that’ll actually be the case. But this is one of the many books that have been standing on my bookshelf for years and I remember that I have already begun reading it some years ago but never actually finished it.

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Synopsis

Like I’ve said before, I really like Sasha Alsberg’s BookTube and she’s constantly talking about Outlander. As far as I know, it’s her all-time favorite book and I just want to find out if it’s actually as good as she always says. Also, my mom absolutely loves Diana Gabaldon and is currently obsessed with the Outlander tv show, so I just have to finally read my first Diana Gabaldon book.

And that’s it for this post. What are the books you read in July and which books do you plan on reading in August?

xoxo, Nina 

2 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up & August TBR

Leave a Reply

