Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

 

51791fac06ad83b1f20c93afe76b15dbe0df3b81Book: Glass Sword

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Pages: 444

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Series: Book 2

Published by: Harper Teen (Harper Collins)

Rating: 4/5 Stars

 

Synopsis:

If there’s one thing Mare Barrow knows, it’s that she’s different.

Mare Barrow’s blood is red—the color of common folk—but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince—the friend—who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they’ve always known—and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul.

 

My review:

“Anyone, anything, can betray anyone. Even your own heart.”

One thing this series has taught me by now is that anyone can betray anyone. It’s a statement that I’ll forever associate with these books. Victoria Aveyard teaches you that by making you trust characters that then betray not only Mare, but also the reader. And there have been lots of times at which I trusted characters that then turned out to be evil. But I’d already gotten used to that after having read “Red Queen” and this time I was slower at trusting newly introduced characters. But I still wasn’t slow enough; so next time I just won’t trust anyone anymore.

Anyway, Glass Sword was a really good book and almost as good as Red Queen which is why I’m giving it four out of five stars. Many said it’s kind of a boring book but I actually didn’t think it was boring at all. It mainly revolves around Mare’s search for other newbloods, so it mainly describes what she’s experiencing while traveling around. Until around page 350, it was a little slower than the first book. Since she was traveling around there wasn’t as much action as there was in the first book of the series. But I have to say that I still didn’t think that it was boring because I found it really interesting to learn about the abilities of the other newbloods. Since they weren’t part of one of the big silver families, they all had abilities that had never been heard of before and I loved finding out what they were capable of doing.

Another interesting thing was the development of Mare, the protagonist of this series. During the first book of the series, I could still really identify myself with her but while reading Glass Sword, there were more and more points at which I couldn’t really see myself in her anymore. You could actually see how much the events of the two books have changed her and towards the end of Glass Sword she made lots of decisions that she would’ve never made at the beginning of Red Queen. But even though I couldn’t really identify myself with her anymore, I actually liked that you could see that everything she’s experienced has changed her. Because what she had to go through would change anyone, me included.

A lot of heartbreaking things happened in this book but there were also a few things that just made me say: “Finally!”

There was actually one specific thing that happened in Glass Sword that almost made me celebrate along with the Scarlet Guard. Those of you who have already read the book probably know what I’m talking about.

All in all, this was a really good book and I can’t wait for the third part of the series. Victoria Aveyard is still the queen of plot twists and cliff hangers for me (along with Cassandra Clare). The ending of Glass Sword was probably the best, and also the worst part of this book. I already did expect this book to end with another cliff hanger but I didn’t think the book would actually end the way it did end. I still can’t really believe what happened in the end and I also can’t believe that I have to wait till February 2017 to finally read King’s cage which will probably end with another cliff hanger.

I love Victoria Aveyard’s writing style and I’m so glad that this series is not over yet!

Four stars for this awesome book!

*

Have you already read Glass Sword? And if you have, did you like it?

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

