Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

22328546Book: Red Queen

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Pages: 383

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

Series: Book 1

Published by: Harper Teen (Harper Collins)

Rating: 5/5 Stars

 

Synopsis:

 

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.

 

My review:

 

„Anyone can betray anyone.”

Red Queen is a book I’ve been meaning to read for a long time and I was really excited to finally start reading it. I had heard lots of great things about the book and I was really hoping I’d love it as much as everyone else and was almost scared that I would hate it.

One of the reviews I read before starting Red Queen was saying that it is a little like a mixture of The Hunger Games, The Selection and Divergent. I personally loved The Hunger Games and The Selection and also really liked Divergent which made me be even more excited for this book.

Now that I finished devouring Red Queen (yes I’m saying devouring because you cannot say that I simply read it), I have to say that I agree with the review and I loved how there were some things in the book that were similar to these other stories. But even though there were similarities, Red Queen was still something new and completely different and I absolutely loved it.

It took me about fifty pages to really get into this book. Those first pages weren’t boring and I was really interested in learning about this new world that Victoria Aveyard has created. But at around the fiftieth or sixtieth page the story began to pick up and from one page to the other I was glued to this book. I just always wanted to know what would happen next and on every page you learned new things about this world or something unexpected happened, Red Queen just wasn’t boring at any part of it.

Mare (the female protagonist) is a character I really liked and since the story is a first-person narrative written from her point of view, I quickly felt as if I were inside of the book and lived her life. I already feel very attached to her.

I also liked some of the other characters but what I liked the most about the characters from this book is how you could never know what kind of a person they really are.

It wasn’t only because all of the silvers have their special powers and my first impression of them usually completely changed as soon as their powers (and their real characters) were revealed. It was also because of the ending of this book and all the plot twists I never would have expected. Suddenly characters I actually liked became characters I deeply despise and characters I hated became characters I feel sorry for.

The end was definitely the most interesting and the best part of this book. The last fifty pages were extremely gripping and almost made me snap at some people because they wanted to talk to me instead of letting me finish this book and find out if everything would be fine in the end.

I always thought Cassandra Clare is the queen of plot twists and cliff hangers but after having read Red Queen I have to say that she now has to share her throne with Victoria Aveyard. Not only were there like a hundred plot twists in this book but it also ended with a freaking cliff hanger and I just can’t wait to read Glass Sword.

I’m so glad someone told me to get the second book of the series before starting to read Red Queen because if I didn’t own it, I’d probably go crazy right now!

 

Anyways, I’m off reading Glass Sword now and if you love Fantasy and Young Adult novels and enjoyed The Hunger Games, The Selection or Divergent, you should definitely read Red Queen.

Definitely five out of five stars for this book!

 

Have you read Red Queen? And if you have, did you like it?

 

 

Leave a Reply

