June Wrap-Up & July TBR

Hey everyone and happy 1st of July,

June is over and reading-wise it has been an okay month for me. I managed to read three  books and also started a fourth one which is pretty good, considering that I had to prepare for my last a-level exam. By the way, I passed that last exam and have now officially graduated from school *-*

June Wrap-Up

IMG_7450.JPG

Clockwork Prince & Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare – 5 out of 5 stars

Synopsis: Clockwork PrinceClockwork Princess

I read Clockwork Angel in May and so I had to immediately read Clockwork Prince and Clockwork Princess at the beginning of June. It took me a bit to get into Clockwork Angel but at the end of the first book I was hooked and extremely excited for the second and the third book of this series. And I must say, both books didn’t disappoint.

Just like all of Cassandra Clare’s novels they were beautifully written and had a great plot. Clockwork Princess even made me cry a little in the end and both books made me stay up until early in the morning several times.

The Infernal Devices is now officially my second favorite books series of all time and it was a great start into the month for me.

You can find full reviews for all three books from the series on my goodreads account:

Clockwork Angel

Clockwork Prince

Clockwork Princess

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes – 5 out of 5 stars

Synopsis

Me Before was a book I was really excited for and just like the first two books I’ve read in June, it didn’t disappoint me at all. Instead, it gave me all the feels and literally left me in tears. I’m not a very sentimental person and I rarely cry, especially not when reading books or watching movies. But this book was the first book that ever really made me cry my eyes out.

Me Before You was such a beautiful and emotional read and I think I’m still not fully over it. I can’t wait to watch the movie but right now I don’t really have time to go to the cinema and it’s killing me.

I’ve already posted my full review of MBY on my blog yesterday and you can find it here. 🙂

Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder

Synopsis

Sophie’s World is a book that has been given to me a few years ago as a Christmas present. I don’t remember who actually gave it to me, I always thought it was my mom but she keeps saying it wasn’t her.

Anyways, even though this book has been standing on my bookshelf for ages, I never started reading it because I was sure I wouldn’t like it. But I’m not that kind of person that just gets rid of a book because of an unproven assertion and so I finally started reading it.

Unfortunately, I only managed to read the first 30 pages and then I had to put it down again. Sophie’s World is a book that is supposed to teach you something, it’s supposed to teach you something about Philosophy and I knew that before starting the book. But while reading the first few pages I realized that this is just not the kind of book I’m able to read at the moment.

I’ve just taken my a-level exams and the last couple of months have been full of studying and reading books that are similar to Sophie’s World. I’m not saying that this is a bad book, I’m only saying that it is not the kind of book I want to read right now and so I can’t rate it.

I definitely plan on reading it in the future but right now I have to read something else.

July TBR

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I’m really excited for all the books I plan on reading this month and I really hope that I’ll actually manage to finish all of them. But I’m done with school now so I should have enough free time to read.

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Synopsis

Eleanor & Park is the first book I plan on reading this month and I’m really looking forward to it. I’ve heard a lot of great things about this book and also about its author Rainbow Rowell. I’ve never read any of her books before and so I’m curious to find out if I’ll like her writing as much as a lot of others do.

Zenith by Sasha Alsberg & Lindsay Cummings

Synopsis

I’ve already heard a lot of mixed opinions about this book. Some people really liked it and some absolutely didn’t like it at all. I’m actually not someone who likes reading Science Fiction and usually wouldn’t decide to read a book like this but I absolutely love Sasha’s Booktube and just want to read her very first novel.

Even though Lindsay Cummings has already published some novels, I’ve never read any of her books either, so I also can’t say that I really like her writing style. That means that I can’t say anything about this book at the moment, except that I’m really excited for it. It’s only 62 pages long which really surprised me but many said it’s a short but enjoyable read, so I hope that I’ll enjoy it as well.

The Boyfriend Thief by Shana Norris

Synopsis

I know you can only see the German version of this book in the picture, but the third book I plan on reading this month is The Boyfriend Thief by Shana Norris.

To be honest, I’ve never heard anything about this book before and I’ve never read any reviews about it. I got this book for 3 or 4 euros at the bookstore and liked the Synopsis, so I took it with me. Still, I’m excited to read this book, especially because it seems to be part of a series that I might want to read if I like this book.

Red Queen & Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Synopsis: Red Queen   Glass Sword

These are the two books I’m most excited for. I’ve been wanting to read Red Queen for ages because I’ve heard so many amazing things about it but due to my a-level exams, I’ve never found time to read it. Then I finally had some more time again but Glass Sword had been released by then and everybody kept telling me to not read Red Queen before having ordered Glass Sword.

A few days ago my copy of Glass Sword finally arrived and so I could put the two books on this month’s TBR. I’m really looking forward to reading them and am actually scared that I’m going to be disappointed by them because I already have such high expectations.

Anyways, I’m gonna try to stop worrying about this now and instead I’m gonna stay excited for these two books because they’re hopefully gonna be my highlights of the month.

 

And this was my June Wrap-Up and July TBR post, I hope you liked it.

Have you read any of the books I read in June or any of those I plan on reading this month? And if you have, did you like them?

Xoxo, Nina

Leave a Reply

